Alan Shearer trolls Gary Lineker, fetes Harry Kane in same tweet

Rex Christensen
July 16, 2018

To be fair to Kane, especially when considering the suggestion that he should have passed the ball to Raheem Sterling, anybody who has seen the Manchester City attackers' finishing at this World Cup would know that him simply tapping the ball into the Croatian net was far from a given.

In previous World Cups the victor has been presented with the award on the pitch following the final.

And while none of this will make England fans any happier as they prepare to watch their side in a third place play-off against Belgium today, it's a tantalising look at what might have been for the Three Lions.

The England captain scored six times in seven appearances to claim the prize for the tournament's top scorer.

The Tottenham Hotspur striker becomes only the second England global to win the award since Gary Lineker, who also scored six in Mexico 1986.

The 24-year-old scored six goals at Russian Federation 2018, holding off competition from Belgium's Romelu Lukaku and France's Kylian Mbappé among others to win the trophy. First of all I'm so proud of this team and staff for giving everything we could over a long period of time together.

Protesters clash with police after man shot by officer in Chicago
In 2016, the city adopted a policy to release video and audio recordings within 60 days of a use-of-force incident. Randale Truitt, 31, of the 200 block of East 70th Street, is charged with attempted first-degree murder.

The award puts Kane in exalted company, with Eusébio, Garrincha and the Brazilian Ronaldo among the previous winners of the Golden Boot.

Three of them were penalties, and one came via a deflection off Ruben Loftus-Cheek's shot.

"It's a big achievement". Obviously I can get better.

"There's still stuff I can improve on". There have been games in this tournament when I could have done better but that's all part of the learning curve.

"I'll hopefully be back for the first game and hopefully I can try and score in August this year", he said. I am self-critical but I don't want to be too negative about the whole tournament.

Russia's Salenko is the only player to win the award playing for a team that went out in the group stages.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article