Luka Modric, Kylian Mbappe, Thibaut Courtois honoured at World Cup

Rex Christensen
July 16, 2018

Luka Modric was named as the best player of the World Cup 2018 after the Croatia star picked up the Golden Ball award, while England captain Harry Kane bagged Golden Boot after finishing as the tournament's top scorer with 6 goals.

"He did the lion share of our play and he was a deserved victor of the Golden Ball".

He scored two goals in the group stage and converted both of his attempts in penalty shootouts to help Croatia reach the final, collecting his award from Federation Internationale de Football Association president Gianni Infantino during a post-match ceremony in which he was embraced by Croatia president Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic.

Mario Manzukic's early own goal put France ahead after the forward got his head to Antoine Griezmann's free-kick delivery into the box.

Belgium's Thibaut Courtois was awarded the Golden Glove for being the leading goalkeeper.

Papa John's founder throws shade at NFL, Roger Goodell
These are the people in your communities from all walks of life who work hard to provide you with better service and better pizza. And I don't want to do business with Roger Goodell, and we've had enough success where we get to pick who we do business with.

He failed to add to his tally in England's next three games - the 2-0 quarterfinal win over Sweden, the 2-1 semifinal loss to Croatia nor the 2-0 third-place play-off defeat by Belgium.

The Real Madrid star embraced Croatian President Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic after being given the award by Federation Internationale de Football Association president Gianni Infantino and Russia President Vladimir Putin in a rainy postgame ceremony.

Below are lists of players who won different individual awards at the tournament.

Spain were also honoured with FIFA's Fair Play Award after receiving only two yellow cards in four games.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article