Leigh Halfpenny a doubt for Tonga game after suffering a concussion

Rex Christensen
November 15, 2018

Wales can not understand why the Australia centre Samu Kerevi escaped punishment for a late tackle on Leigh Halfpenny last weekend that left the full-back concussed.

Should Wallabies centre Samu Kerevi have been penalised and/or yellow-carded for this challenge that left fullback Leigh Halfpenny with a head injury?

Halfpenny left the field in the 74th minute of the match, which Wales went on to win 9-6. "I'm not quite sure what the rules are stating at this moment in time but Halfers doesn't go down lightly, he's a tough old player, ' the assistant coach said". He's constantly getting up and keeping playing.

"For him to go down and suffer a HIA, there's certainly some sort of head contact but the ref didn't think so on the day".

Virat Kohli Says Ravi Shastri Being Called A Yes Man Was "Bizarre"
India will play four Test matches against Australia with the first five-day contest commencing in Adelaide on December 6. And he'll tell you if there is something that doesn't need to be done, then it doesn't need to be done.

It forced Halfpenny from the pitch, then Wallabies replacement Matt Toomua kicked an equalising penalty before Wales substitute Dan Biggar, who was on for Halfpenny, delivered a winning 77th-minute strike. "He will go through his protocols and see where he is later in the week".

But that would have been with the aim of having a rested and fit Halfpenny available for the November 24 clash with South Africa at Cardiff's Principality Stadium that will conclude Wales' end of year programme. I was at a referees and coaches meeting in London during the week and we had some good discussion and debate about the game and player welfare and looking after the players.

The referee Ben O'Keeffe did not consult the television match official.

Former British and Irish Lions and Wales star Jonathan Davies said during commentary that he felt Kerevi was committed to the tackle and could not pull out. He ruled that the contact was unavoidable and accidental, a conclusion shared by the citing officer who took no action even though Halfpenny failed a head injury assessment and has to follow protocols to return.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER