Man coughs up a part of his lung after being hospitalised

Desiree Burns
December 7, 2018

During his first week of treatment, he began coughing violently, according to reports.

A 36-year-old man literally coughed up a piece of his lung after being hospitalized with heart problems at a hospital in California.

The patient had been in the intensive care unit of the University of California San Francisco Medical Center for a week with episodes of coughing up blood and mucus.

Over the course of a week, the patient had progressed to coughing up phlegm and blood, and during a particularly extreme bout coughed up an intact cast of the right bronchial tree.

The patient had a violent coughing fit in hospital a week after surgery to fit him with a pacemaker in case his heart became blocked.

The journal says he had a rare ejection fraction deficiency - a term for how much blood is pumped with each contraction.

You Can Watch The Game Awards Right Here with Bill
The Game Awards 2018 will be streamed live on YouTube, Twitch , Facebook Live, Xbox Live, Mixer, Steam and PlayStation. The festivities will begin today, December 6, at 8:30 PM ET / 5:30 PM PT / (Friday at 1:30 AM GMT / 12:30 PM AET).

It was evident that his health was declining when the patient was admitted to the hospital and he died a week after the incident.

He was pumping around 50 per cent less blood than the rate for a normal healthy heart.

After coughing up the bronchial tree, doctors immediately intubated him and performed a bronchoscopy, but he later died from heart failure complications ('volume overload and poor cardiac output'), despite the placement of the ventricular assist device.

The man coughed up the right bronchial tree.

But it is possible to cough so violently that parts of the organ pop through spaces between ribs, or to cough up parts.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER