Tua Tagovailoa and Kyler Murray split honors at College Football Awards

Rex Christensen
December 7, 2018

The Oklahoma star was presented the Davey O'Brien Award, given to college football's top quarterback, at the College Football Awards Show on Thursday night in Atlanta. It goes to the player of the year. Tagovailoa won the Maxwell over fellow finalists Murray and Grier.

Tagovailoa took home the Walter Camp Award as well as the Maxwell Award, both of which honor the nation's top player.

Murray was Mayfield's backup last season and won the starter's job in preseason practice. Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray was named the AP player of the year Wednesday, and was chosen as the Davey O'Brien Award victor as the nation's top quarterback today. He beat out Tagovailoa and Washington State's Gardner Minshew. This is the sixth time in the past 15 seasons that different quarterbacks took home the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards, and in four of the previous five times the Heisman went to the O'Brien victor.

GOP-led Michigan Senate to vote on bill to strip Dem's power
Republicans pushed on Tuesday night into Wednesday through protests, internal disagreement and Democratic opposition. Walker is getting bipartisan pressure to veto the measures, including from Democratic Gov. -elect Tony Evers.

This year's Heisman Trophy ceremony will be aired on ESPN at 7 p.m. CT from the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square. Through 13 games, the sophomore has completed 67.7 percent of his passes for 3,353 yards and a school-record 37 touchdowns. Murray has thrown for 4,053 yards and 40 touchdowns while rushing for over 800 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Tua Tagovailoa will have to wait until Saturday to find out if he's the victor of college football's top prize. The past five winners of the Walter Camp Award won the Heisman, while the past four Maxwell winners did the same. But his left ankle injury and poor performance in the SEC championship game and Murray's great Big 12 championship game performance has made the Oklahoma QB the sportsbook favorite heading into Saturday night.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article