Apple is doing a amusing job of shunning CES this year

Irving Hamilton
January 8, 2019

The message stands about 13 floors high on the side of a hotel that overlooks the Las Vegas Convention Center hosting CES 2019 this week.

The 13-story billboard, which covers nearly the entirety of the CES-adjacent hotel, reads: "What happens on your iPhone, stays on your iPhone". The real point of the ad, however, is the web address under the text, a link to apple.com/privacy, which goes into detail about Apple's privacy and security features, including how data related to Face ID, Touch ID, Apple Pay, and users' health remain protected. The two companies are expected to display more products under the Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant brands, which Apple is struggling to get a foothold with its HomePod tech product, CNBC reported. But this year, Apple will literally be reminding everyone of 2018's privacy scandals, asking CES visitors how comfortable they are saying "hey Google" to a growing raft of products.

National parks, aid for poor hit as US government shutdown drags on
Mesa Verde National Park reported $65.7 million in maintenance needs that have been delayed because of budget constraints. Bernhardt described efforts of Utahns to keep their national parks operating as "amazing".

Last year, CEO Tim Cook gave a speech that seemed to take aim at practices of companies like Amazon and Facebook, saying opposing privacy regulation "isn't just wrong, it is destructive". That's especially true for Monday, Jan. 6: "Press day" is comprised of at least a dozen press conferences, starting at 8 a.m. PT sharp (11 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. UK) with LG.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER