New Zealand vs India

Rex Christensen
February 8, 2019

India were unable to carry over their ODI form into the first T20 match of the series as they were on the end of a heavy defeat against New Zealand and need to win this second match to keep the series alive.

Hosts New Zealand came back to winning ways after crushing India in the first T20 on Wednesday, and they will look to seal the series in the second match here on Friday.

# Wicket! Bhuvneshwar gives an early breakthrough to India by removing opener Seifert for 12 runs.

The spinners, Krunal Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal, did alright but the team management will also consider including chinaman Kuldeep Yadav.

Tim Seifert smashed 84 from 43 balls in that game as New Zealand condemned India to their highest defeat by runs in T20 cricket.

The lack of fight in the run chase was a big disappointment, as mentioned by captain Rohit Sharma in Wellington. MS Dhoni top-scored for India, scoring 39 while Vijay Shankar and Dhawan scored 27 and 29 respectively.

Measles cases in Europe `highest in decade´
Alan Melnick, Public Health Director and Clark County Health Officer, said that two major factors are causing the outbreak. Since Jan. 1, 50 cases of measles have been confirmed in Clark County , with 11 more cases suspected, officials said.

The players are out in the middle and we are about to get underway with the respective national anthems of the two teams. Rohit Sharma said he wanted to bowl anyway, despite India conceding 219 in the previous game.

He could not do much in Wellington, getting four off 9 balls before spinner Mitchell Santner bowled him with a fast yorker.

Put in to bat first, New Zealand openers - Seifert and Colin Munro fired on all cylinders.

"The team could also try pairing Krunal Pandya with other experienced spinners in the squad for the remaining matches". He conceded just three runs from it which included one wide down the leg side.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Mohammad Siraj. The Men in Blue, on the other hand, have brought in Hardik Pandya into the attack as they look to take a few more wickets.

The 2nd T20i is scheduled to be held on Friday at the Eden Park in Auckland and the extravaganza will commence at around 11:30 am (IST).

Other reports by

Discuss This Article