Zach Johnson Accidentally Hits Ball With Practice Swing

Rex Christensen
April 15, 2019

2007 Masters champion Zach Johnson is having a rough go of it in the 2019 competition.

As Johnson's group informed him, there was no penalty for the weird gaffe because it clearly happened while he was taking a practice swing.

The extraordinary incident became even more freaky once the ball had richocheted off the tee marker and come to rest only a couple of metres away, still on the teeing ground.

But there was Zach Johnson on the 13th tee on Friday, preparing to his his tee shot when one of his practice swings accidentally hit the ball. So Johnson re-teed and found the fairway.

Had that happened not on the tee box, Johnson would have incurred a penalty.

Game of Thrones Iron Throne Standee
Make sure to stick with FanSided as we bring you everything Game of Thrones throughout the final season and beyond. While you can't stream the channel live, you can stream the episodes through your HBO Now account.

Under United States Golf Association rules, a ball isn't considered to be "in play" until it's actually hit from the tee area.

Despite the mishap, Johnson is positive that it was one-off, adding: "I don't think I could do it again if I even tried".

Johnson, playing with Phil Mickelson and Matt Kuchar, told the golfers they could laugh at his mistake.

"He doesn't let me forget many things", Johnson said, "But, hey, you get what you deserve".

Johnson was able to put the drama behind him, making birdie at the hole, although bogeys at the 17 and 18 hole left him at +1 for the day and +3 for the tournament.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER