Structural engineering celebrated at global awards

The winners of The Structural Awards 2013 have been announced in a ceremony held at the Brewery in London.

The awards, organised each year by The Institution of Structural Engineers, celebrate the world’s most talented structural designers and their indispensable contribution to the built environment.

YK Cheng, President of the institution, said: “The Institution of Structural Engineers holds The Structural Awards each year to showcase the challenging environments in which engineers work and the complex structures they help to raise.

“The aim is to recognise the range of skills that characterise our global profession, raise awareness among the general public, and encourage young people into structural engineering careers.”

“This year we have once again enjoyed a high standard of innovative entries and I congratulate all our winners on their achievements.”

Taizhou Bridge over the Yangtse River in Jiangsu Province, China, won  The Supreme Award for Structural Engineering Excellence, as well as the Award for Highway or Railway Bridge Structures.

The bridge, designed by Jiangsu Provincial Communications Planning and Design Institute alongside AECOM Asia Company, is the world’s first long-span, three-tower suspension bridge.

The judges said: “This enormous project was an extraordinary achievement, which pushed the frontiers of suspension bridge technology to new heights. Bridge engineering has just moved forward by a very significant margin.”

Other award winners included:

·         Award for Arts or Entertainment Structures: Gardens by the Bay, Singapore. Structural Designer: Atelier One with Meinhardt Infrastructure
·         Award for Commercial and Retail Structures: China Central Television New HQ Beijing, China. Structural Designer: Arup; and the East China Architectural & Design Research Institute
·         Award for Community or Residential Structures: Bishop Edward King Chapel, Oxfordshire, UK. Structural Designer: Price & Myers
·         Award for Education or Healthcare Structures: University of Exeter Forum Devon, UK. Structural Designers: Buro Happold
·         Award for Infrastructure or Transportation Structures: Emirates Air Line London, UK. Structural Designers: Expedition Engineering; Buro Happold and URS
·         Award for Pedestrian Bridges: Pembroke College Footbridge Oxford, UK. Structural Designer: Price & Myers
·         Award for Small Practices: The Feature Stairs for the New Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg, Russia, Structural Designer: Malishev Wilson Engineers
·         Award for Small Projects: KREOD Pavilion London, UK. Structural Designer: Ramboll
·         Award for Sports and Leisure Structures: First Direct Arena Leeds, UK. Structural Designer: Arup
·         Structural Heritage Award: The Cutty Sark London, UK Structural Designer: Buro Happold
·         Award for Sustainability: Halley VI Antarctic Research Station, Antarctica. Structural Designer: AECOM

For more information about The Structural Awards 2013, visit:


Leave a Reply